Hi! Introduce yourselves here. :: Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie turtle pet owner

Drop a post to say hi. Please ask care questions in the forums below.

Post Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:42 am   Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie turtle pet owner

Hi Everyone,

I am Serdan.

Me and my girlfriend got our first two pet turtle. But we noticed that there are white spot on their shell. After reading throughout internet, it seems they have fungal on shell.

This is Hungry

This is Grumpy

I would to ask how to cure white spots on shell.

Also Hungry seems like to eat pellets but Grumpy is not eating pellets. Do I need to get alternative food?
serdan

Post Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:16 am   Re: Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie turtle pet owner

Yeah, that's fungus. Any chance you can get silver sulfadiazine cream?
search.php?keywords=silver+sulfadiazine+cream

I would try to feed Grumpy separately, maybe take Hungry out while you try. A large box might be useful in holding him. You might also want to try live foods if he's still reluctant.
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:25 am   Re: Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie turtle pet owner

steve wrote:Yeah, that's fungus. Any chance you can get silver sulfadiazine cream?
search.php?keywords=silver+sulfadiazine+cream

I would try to feed Grumpy separately, maybe take Hungry out while you try. A large box might be useful in holding him. You might also want to try live foods if he's still reluctant.

Hi Steve,

Thank you. Is it available on local pet store or local drug store? I will check it later after office if they have available cream and live food.

Edit:
it seems it required a prescription. Is it safe to use any fungal cream? or ssd is the best one?
serdan

Post Posted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 3:18 am   Re: Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie turtle pet owner