General Care Discussion :: Nail Trimmings

Taking care of your turtle's overall health.

Post Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:51 pm   Nail Trimmings

Hey!! I'm new to the care of turtles and I was wondering if I should have her nails trimmed. They seem to be very long and sharp which I know could be a regular thing for them however her nails seem to be affecting the way she walks and have grown a lot since I got her two months ago. I was not going to attempt to cut her nails myself but I'm wondering if I should book a vet appointment for her or if her nails don't actually need to be cut and I'm just paranoid. Thanks in advance for the input!!
Mabel20

Post Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:14 pm   Re: Nail Trimmings

Nope, never. If the nails are that long then you probably have a boy. How much walking (and where) do you let your turtle do?
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:45 am   Re: Nail Trimmings

My turtle doesn't do much walking but I just let her walk around my room while I clean the tank out.
Mabel20

Post Posted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:14 am   Re: Nail Trimmings

Are you sure you have a female?
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Tue May 02, 2017 6:16 pm   Re: Nail Trimmings

Definitely sure I have a female. I more familiar with rabbit nails and dog nails so I've only ever seen them short. I guess I'm just not used to seeing nails as long as hers.
Mabel20

Post Posted: Wed May 03, 2017 6:41 am   Re: Nail Trimmings

If they are not growing normally, then they should be looked at but its usually not a problem.
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 1:23 am   Re: Nail Trimmings

Penelope's rear nails get really long and sharp. She does her own 'nail filing' when she roams on the patio (she has grass to play on, but always hits the cement).
Is your turtle walking on carpet? If yes, could it be that they are just getting snagged? If its a smooth floor then that wipes out that theory.