Habitat - Indoor :: Does salmonella come through grown plants?

Turtle tank setups and other indoor configurations.

Post Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:57 pm   Does salmonella come through grown plants?

I'm new to the Hobby. had turtles as a kid, and want to get into it as an adult. I'm reading a ton, and planning out my eventual setup.

I don't have a lot of experience with freshwater fish, but I do have some knowledge and taking care of saltwater fish and things like that.

I have an interest in aquaponics, and would love to be able to combine Turtles with that. I was thinking of setting up planter tray to grow alfalfa sprouts and wheatgrass with no soil before the water hits a biological filter. has anybody done anything like this? Will the salmonella be transferred to the grass it's for my cat. my goal is to grow things like alfalfa sprouts and maybe certain kinds of cabbage or something that the turtle can actually eat as well.

I'm also very interested in spotted turtles for their size, coloring, temperament, and to feel like I'm contributing to their preservation. I'm also interested in breeding them for sale. is that possible? I love in Florida.

I'm interested in using an exo terra wide glass terrarium, https://www.google.com/shopping/product ... OYQAvD_BwE, intended for a different creature, but I saw a video with someone using one. anybody else?
-cj
cieje

Post Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2018 3:41 am   Re: Does salmonella come through grown plants?

Hi, welcome to the forum! I don't think I would consume anything that is grown with turtles, especially in an enclosed habitat. Spotteds are pretty neat turtles, and their legality varies by state. Florida has pretty clear rules, so you should be able to get an answer from your local federal sites. I don't think that the terrarium you linked is really big enough for them. You might want to look into something like a breeder tank or a frag tank for them.
steve
Site Admin