Hi! Introduce yourselves here. :: Hello!

Drop a post to say hi. Please ask care questions in the forums below.

Post Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:45 pm   Hello!

Hi all. My name is Ross and I live outside Houston TX. I found my slider as a hatchling when digging in the backyard. I have had her 5 months now and her name is Mikey. I am also a newbie slider owner and hoping to gain some knowledge here.
RSteff

Post Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:30 am   Re: Hello!

Welcome to the forum! Do you know where the momma might have come from?
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:57 pm   Re: Hello!

The closest body of water is a very small pond in a neighbor's yard that doesn't really hold water...other than that would be drainage ditches. I live in a rural area, so possible she came up the drainage ditches. I dunno but I felt bad for this baby slider by itself...now my wife and I are pretty attached
RSteff

Post Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:38 pm   Re: Hello!

He's lucky you found him! Are you keeping him indoors or will he have a pond?
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:07 pm   Re: Hello!

We just moved her outside. I had her in a 10 gal aquarium inside but she got big quick...she is about 4"long now and needed more space. This past Sunday I moved to an outdoor 110 gal tank. She worried me at first because she wasn't eating and I wasn't sure she was basking but I found her basking and eating today...so just new home jitters I guess. She swims and plays a lot now! It's great!
RSteff

Post Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:30 am   Re: Hello!

You'll need to carefully monitor her diet as 4" is pretty big for a 5-mo old RES. Also you will need to protection around the pond to keep out any predators and make sure she doesn't wander off.
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 1:02 pm   Re: Hello!