General Care Discussion :: Tiny Yellow thing in Red Ear Slider's water

Taking care of your turtle's overall health.

Post Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:40 am   Tiny Yellow thing in Red Ear Slider's water

Hello all!

This is my first time posting on here, and I hope you can all help me.
I own two red ear sliders (around 20 years old). They live in separate tanks. (I have heating and UVB lights for them).

For some reason, I noticed a yellow colored tiny string (probably like 0.5cm) in one of my turtle's water. It's not moving. I noticed there's 4 of those yellow things in the water. I've seen these things for a few weeks now. To better imagine what it looks like: it's as if you took a pen and drew a 0.5cm line. It's that small and thin. Sometimes they are curled too.
It seems like it could be poop, but I've seen my turtle's poop before and it's usually like 2cm and it's brown.
I'm worried because I hope it's not a parasite? I don't know what it could be. It's not moving, so I don't know where it came from. I can't find any answers. My other turtle's tank does not have this yellow thing.

I attached a picture and circled the yellow things. (Below the tank is carpet, sorry if it's hard to see).
I would really appreciate your help. Thank you so much.
Attachments
IMG_6186.jpg
angelaaa

Post Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 11:57 am   Re: Tiny Yellow thing in Red Ear Slider's water

Does it break apart easily? Is the poop looking normal?
steve
Site Admin

Post Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 3:39 pm   Re: Tiny Yellow thing in Red Ear Slider's water

Hi Steve,
For some reason, I haven't been seeing any poop in their water. Would this yellow thing be poop? Usually their poop is brown and bigger.
I feed them once a week now. I'm not sure if I have been feeding them too many pellets? One of them is 5.5 inches and the other is 5 inches.

I'll try breaking it apart...it's really small but I'll update once again when I try to break it.
angelaaa