Habitat - Indoor :: Lighting-Need Help

Turtle tank setups and other indoor configurations.

Post Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 9:34 am   Lighting-Need Help

Hey there. I'm new at this, so be nice. I've never posted anything anywhere, but I guess there's really nothing to it, huh?

Anyway, I have a Lighting question I need help with. I have a 90 Gallon tank that I’m just starting to setup and I have already purchased Zoo Med’s 100 watt basking spot bulb, but I haven’t gotten anything yet to cover the UVB spectrum. I’ve read so many good things about the Mega-Ray bulb, so I was planning on getting their 100 watt flood lamp. My concern is that I may be over doing it. Will two 100 watt bulbs be producing too much heat (and light) for a 90 gallon tank (that's 4 foot long)? I plan on having the bulbs on opposite ends of the tank, so they will be spread apart, but still?? What do you think? This is my first “real” Turtle Tank, so I need all the help and ideas I can get! Also, I read on the russiantortoise.org Web site that the Mega-Ray bulbs do NOT produce any UVA rays, just powerful UVB rays. Do you know if this is correct?
Many Thanks, JimboCraig

"Ever since I was a little boy, I always LOVED Turtles! I really have no idea why. I just do! My Wife calls me TurtleBoy and my family and friends constantly make fun of me! Oh well, who cares"
JimboCraig

Post Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:23 am   

First off.. Welcome :) Yeah being new to posting isn't as painful as you'd think :lol:

You can adjust the temperature of the basking area etc, by how far away the light is.. The basking area also needs heat as well as the UVB rays. UVB does not give off heat We recommend that you test the basking temperature by putting a thermometer on something that simulates your turtle's height so you can get a more accurate reading. You can use regular housebulbs for heat instead of buying the expensive heat lights, btw.. put your money into other things like good UVB bulbs.