Equipment Review and Discussion :: Rena XP3 Blowing Air

Various accessories and equipment discussed here.

Post Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 9:38 am   Rena XP3 Blowing Air

Hi all,

This is my first time ever setting up a canister filter. It was a bit confusing but I finally got it put together, primed and plugged in but i'm noticing now that every 5-10 minutes the spray bar is blowing bursts of air and bubbles. I cannot locate an air leak or a way that the air could be getting in and I have tried tilting the filter over several times. When I tilt it the filter lets out a TON of air bubbles and seems to be fine until 10-15 minutes later when it starts blowing air again. I'm a rookie and I honestly don't know what to do, i've heard of shutting off the filter for a few minutes but I didn't want to do that until I talked to you guys.

I think air may have been let into the filter as I was setting it up, once it was primed as I plugged it in I had forgotten to push the lever back down which I didnt realize for a minute or 2. The filter has only been set up and running since about 2am last night, it's almost 8 am now. I really hoping that once it runs for a couple days it will go away because i'm honestly afraid of having to take it apart. There are no air bubbles in the tubes, it all seems to be in the filter itself near the top by the propeller/motor. Any help will be greatly appreciated!
Jinx

Post Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:03 am   Re: Rena XP3 Blowing Air

All canister filters do this. It's just a little air stuck in the filter.
1 F RES 9" (Kingler)
1 F Belize Slider 7" (Agamemnon)
My Youtube Channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/condorboy1/videos
Linus

Post Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:57 am   Re: Rena XP3 Blowing Air

What should I do to get it out or will it naturally blow out on it's own after a few days? Should I keep tilting the filter?
Jinx

Post Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:25 pm   Re: Rena XP3 Blowing Air

Nah, mine keeps blowing for months.
1 F RES 9" (Kingler)